We make every effort to keep the programme up-to-date and accurate.  However changes can happen at short notice and updates rely on the kind donation of time by Society members.  If you see an error please let us know.

Basic members are welcome to attend lectures but will be charged a small fee.

May
21
Tue
NLC Season 21.05.24 – 08.08.24
May 21 – Aug 8 all-day

Between  Tuesday the 21st of May until approx Tuesday the 8th of August

Noctilucent Cloud (NLC) could start to appear in the NW sky 90-120 minutes after sunset

or 90-120 minutes before sunrise in the NE sky

these dates may vary a little dependent on current solar activity

 NLC have a typical colour range of electric blue to silver

and are normally at an altitude of 250,000-280,000 feet

 

Jun
14
Fri
A Clair Obscur effect
Jun 14 @ 4:30 pm – 5:15 pm

During the afternoon of Friday the 14th of June above the SE horizon

at 17.00 hrs BST / 16.00 Hrs UTC

a Clair Obscur effect, The Stars of Aristillus will be visible along the terminator

the Sun will be above the horizon as this event is taking place

 if you plan to observe / image this event

 please remember your solar safety :-

DO NOT LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE SUN WITHOUT THE CORRECT SOLAR FILTER FITTED TO YOUR EQUIPMENT

OR SOLAR SAFETY GLASSES FOR YOUR EYES

and remember to dress for the conditions

Mercury @ Superior Conjunction
Jun 14 @ 5:00 pm – 5:00 pm

At 17.00 hrs BST / 16.00 hrs UTC on the afternoon of Friday the 14th of June

above the SW – W horizon

the planet Mercury will reach Superior Conjunction

( Superior conjunction occurs when a Solar System body, i.e.:-  a planet, lies along a straight line between the Earth and the Sun,

but is on the opposite side of the Sun from the Earth. )

Jun
16
Sun
The Moon & Spica
Jun 16 @ 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm

In the early evening of Sunday the 16th of June @ 19.00 hrs BST / 18.00 hrs UTC

above the SE – S horizon a 73.7% illuminated waxing gibbous Moon will be 1.2° from the star Spica

if you plan to observe / image this event remember to dress for the conditions

Jun
17
Mon
The earliest Sunrise of the year
Jun 17 @ 4:15 am – 5:30 am

On the morning of Monday the 17th of June along the NE – E horizon

the Sun will rise above the horizon @ approx 04.53 hrs BST / 03.53 hrs UTC

this will be the earliest Sunrise of the year

if you plan to observe / image this event

 please remember your solar safety :-

DO NOT LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE SUN WITHOUT THE CORRECT SOLAR FILTER FITTED TO YOUR EQUIPMENT

OR SOLAR SAFETY GLASSES FOR YOUR EYES

and remember to dress for the conditions

Jun
22
Sat
A Favourable Lunar Libration
Jun 22 @ 12:00 am – 1:00 am

On the night of the 22nd of June low along the SE – S horizon

the Moon will rise at approx 00.00 hrs BST / 23.00 hrs UTC

and a favourable lunar libration will offer views of

 the The Crater Einstein  & the Mare Orientale

the Crater Einstein can be found between 9 and 10 o’clock on the left hand rim of the Moon

with the Mare Orientale between 7 and 8 o’clock

 if you plan to observe / image this event remember to dress for the conditions