We make every effort to keep the programme up-to-date and accurate.  However changes can happen at short notice and updates rely on the kind donation of time by Society members.  If you see an error please let us know.

Basic members are welcome to attend lectures but will be charged a small fee.

May
21
Tue
NLC Season 21.05.24 – 08.08.24
May 21 – Aug 8 all-day

Between  Tuesday the 21st of May until approx Tuesday the 8th of August

Noctilucent Cloud (NLC) could start to appear in the NW sky 90-120 minutes after sunset

or 90-120 minutes before sunrise in the NE sky

these dates may vary a little dependent on current solar activity

 NLC have a typical colour range of electric blue to silver

and are normally at an altitude of 250,000-280,000 feet

 

Jul
18
Thu
Observing / Informal Evening
Jul 18 @ 7:45 pm – 9:45 pm

Tonight will be an observing evening weather & sky conditions permitting

if the weather / sky conditions are unfavourable the evening will revert to an informal evening

as part of the evening Rita will be giving a talk about Meteors

members are welcome to bring their own equipment along

Jul
24
Wed
The Moon & Saturn
Jul 24 @ 11:00 pm – Jul 25 @ 2:45 am

From 23.00 hrs BST 22.00 hrs UTC on Wednesday the 24th of July

an 83% illuminated waning gibbous Moon will rise above the E – SE horizon

and will be 1.3° below & to the left of the planet Saturn

 this event would be best viewed from approx 23.30 hrs BST 22.30 hrs UTC

as both bodies climb above the horizon

if you plan to observe / image this event remember to dress for the conditions

Jul
25
Thu
T.B.A
Jul 25 @ 7:45 pm – 9:45 pm

This post will be updated as details become available

Jul
29
Mon
The Moon & The Pleiades
Jul 29 @ 12:00 am – 3:00 am

 On Monday the 29th of July @ 00.02 hrs BST 23.02 UTC

 a 29% illuminated Moon will rise above the NE – E horizon

and will be 1.5° above & to the right of the Pleiades (M45)

this event would be best viewed from approx 01.00 hrs BST 00.00 hrs UTC

as both the Moon & the Pleiades clear the horizon

if you plan to observe / image this even remember to dress for the conditions

Jul
31
Wed
Mars the Moon & Jupiter
Jul 31 @ 2:30 am – 4:30 am

From 02.30 hrs BST 01.30 hrs UTC – 04.30 hrs BST 03.30 hrs UTC

on the morning of Wednesday the 31st of July along the NE – E horizon

the 19% illuminated waning crescent Moon will be 5.3° east of the planet Jupiter

with the star Aldebaran, Jupiter, & Mars forming a triangle within the constellation of Taurus

with sunrise @ 05.30 hrs BST 04.30 hrs UTC

please remember your solar safety :-

DO NOT LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE SUN WITHOUT THE CORRECT SOLAR FILTER FITTED TO YOUR EQUIPMENT

OR SOLAR SAFETY GLASSES FOR YOUR EYES

and remember to dress for the conditions

Aug
5
Mon
The Moon & Venus
Aug 5 @ 8:00 pm – Aug 7 @ 9:00 pm

During the evening of Monday the 5th of August along the western horizon @ approx 20.30 hrs BST 19.30 hrs UTC

a 1% lit waxing crescent Moon will be 1.8° NW of Venus

the late evening twilight may well make this event a little difficult to locate

if you plan to observe / image this event remember to dress for the conditions

Aug
11
Sun
The Perseid Meteor Shower Peak
Aug 11 – Aug 13 all-day

The Perseid meteor shower

will reach it’s peak @ 15.00 hrs BST 14.00 hrs UTC on Monday the 12th of August

 with a predicted ZHR of 100

and the Moon setting @ approx 22.00 hrs BST 21.00 hrs UTC

on the nights of 11-12th & 12-13th of August

the  skies should be dark enough for this event to be visible

if you plan to observe / image this event remember to dress for the conditions

Aug
19
Mon
Mercury at inferior conjunction
Aug 19 @ 7:00 pm – 7:00 pm

On the evening of Monday the 19th of August @ 19.00 hrs BST 18.00 hrs UTC

the planet Mercury will reach inferior conjunction

when the planet will be in a direct line between the Earth & the Sun

the Sun will be above the horizon as this event is taking place

 if you plan to observe / image this event

 please remember your solar safety :-

DO NOT LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE SUN WITHOUT THE CORRECT SOLAR FILTER FITTED TO YOUR EQUIPMENT

OR SOLAR SAFETY GLASSES FOR YOUR EYES

and remember to dress for the conditions

TOP
Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam